Not Just for Rainy Days Smokey Eyes: Lancôme Color Design Eye Brightening All-In-One 5 Shadow & Liner Palette

This morning as I was preparing my makeup for the day, I pulled out and rediscovered an eye shadow palette I haven’t used in a while. It was my Lancôme Color Design Eye Brightening All-In-One 5 Shadow & Liner Palette, which I received as a bonus gift from a previous Lancôme purchase.

Image

You know that feeling you get when you  pull out an old pair of jeans or a jacket from your closet and find a $20 bill tucked away in a pocket, like it was saved for a rainy day? Well, that’s exactly how I felt when I was reunited with my Lancôme eye palette : -)

I’m not sure if this was a coincidence, but it was also raining this morning too, when I rediscovered the eye palette. I think it was just meant to be that I wore it today after neglecting it for so long!

I love that it’s a mini-palette and literally fits right in the palm of your hand! Last time I used this was for the sole purpose of its cute little miniature size, so it would be an easy stow away in my clutch purse—since hubby and I were off to a party and I really had to bring minimal touch up makeup because my party clutch purse was like the size of a wallet. I’m really used to toting around oversized hobo-style purses for function purposes (mommy/diaper bag) and for my makeup! Did I mention I also have a huge fetish for purses?  But that’s another story about my passions, for another time!

Image

What I also adore about this palette are the luxurious, rich colors! Reason I hardly use it is because I like to save it for special occasions—like parties or special outings. But this morning I realized that hey, I can make this make this work as an everyday casual smokey eye look! And that’s where my inspiration came from this morning.

The back of the palette has a little tutorial-like color by numbers diagram explaining how to use the colors in the palette:
1 – All-over base (metallic champagne)
2 – Lid (metallic bright eggplant)
3 – Crease (matte plum)
4 – Highlighter (metallic taupe)
5 – Liner (metallic graphite w/ glitter)

Image

I kind of played around with the colors a little differently. Firstly, I used MAC Paint Pot in Groundwork as my eye lid base (Love!).

Image

I used #1 as my highlighter under my brow bone and around the tear duct area. Then I mixed #’s 3 + 4 and lightly washed it over the entire lid up until the crease. Then I used #2 just along the upper lashline corner and crease (like a little V shape) then I blended this  area with a blending brush. Lastly I used #5 as a liner along the roots of my upper lashline and lower lashline. Finishing it off with Lancôme Hypnôse Star mascara and e.l.f Eyebrow Treat & Tame for the brows. Here’s my version of the “not just for rainy days casual smokey eye look”. Hope you like it!

Image

Image

Yeah, I know what you’re saying: What’s with the bushy eyebrows?  I’ve been growing them out for fuller thick eyebrows. But not to worry, I do plan on getting them cleaned up and threaded next week:)

Thanks for reading my blog : – )

What’s your fave smokey eye palette?

Leave a Reply

