Double-Duty Beauty: Time and $Money-Saving Makeup – Part I

As I’ve mentioned before, I have a reserved soft spot in my heart for any of my beauty products that work hard, save me time and give me major bang for my buck.

Between being a full time mom (of a 5 and 7-year old and experiencing early motherhood again with an 8-month old), working out (sometimes), eating healthy (for the WHOLE family—that also means coming up with ways to successfully sneak in broccoli, spinach or any greens for that matter into kid’s meals…and man, it’s hard work to avoid any suspicion), spending time with my girlfriends (to stay completely sane and be in the loop) and trying to find time to cozy up or even have one-on-one time with hubby (which is pretty much next to impossible), it can often be difficult to find time for your beauty routine. Neglecting the beauty department, though, is not an option for me, nor should any of you forsake it if you’re passionate about all things beauty related. Rather, you just need to know which products to use in order to maximize your time. As Part I of my Double-Duty series, I’ve compiled a short list of time saving makeup products that have helped me to always look sharp in a snap and stay beauty confident:)

1. Cargo Cosmetics Coral Beach Blush; $30

Image

A quartet of four shimmery stripes of smooth textured color in one blush-sized pan: caramel bronze, browned rose, pale pink, and golden tan. Key ingredient vitamin E protects skin from damaging free radicals. Nicely pigmented. Mixed together, it makes a rosy-terracotta brown with shimmer for a beautiful sun-kissed glow. The individual stripes could also be used as eyeshadow, blush, bronzer & highlighter. As you can see, I’ve used this religiously without fail…and it looks like I need a new one!

Image

2. e.l.f Cream Eyeliner; $3

I call these my ‘little beauty elves’ that provide double-duty satisfaction. These cream eyeliners come in super adorable, little plastic square jars and so far I have them in Gunmetal, Copper and Punk Purple.

Image

Smooth and soft in the pot they are also quite pigmented on the eyelid and provide good staying power, which is one of the reasons why I use it alternatively as an eyeshadow (Important note: make sure you blend right away as soon as you apply it to eyelids because these bad boys won’t budge in matters of seconds)! Also great as an eyeliner, the cream formula creates defined and smooth lines. They are a pretty good deal for the price you pay and they do work wonders and save me ‘eye time’.

Image

3. Boscia BB Cream SPF 27: $38

Image

A powerful multi-tasking, oil-free, skin perfecting “blemish balm” that hydrates, firms and soothes the skin creating a radiant, flawless finish. This 5-in-1 product is my go-to item for lazy day weekends, achieving a ‘no-makeup’ makeup look or my ‘I-have-5-minutes-to-get-out-the-door-or-I’m-doomed” look (this last look is usually said out loud by my husband and then continues in my head). My love for this 5-in-1 product is endless, but for this review’s purpose, let me count the ways I love it so and for what it does for me:
1. It’s a moisturizer
2. It’s a sunscreen with SPF 27
3. It’s a primer
4. It’s a concealer
5. It’s a foundation with self-adjusting color properties

I just adore it for ‘working hard for the money’…cue Donna Summer’s hit song:)

4. Korres Lip Butter Glaze in Wild Rose; $14

It’s my miracle 4-in-1 product that functions as as a lipstick, lipgloss, lip treatment and blush! Leaves my lips soft and hydrated without being too tacky or goopy. Provides the right amount of a semi-opaque deep red tint. Has a lip balm texture, but enough color and custom-buildable to your desired intensity to wear at night. Not at all glossy like most typical lip glosses, I actually use it also as a cream blush too when I’m in a time pinch.

Image

And voilà, that’s it! I’ve taken care of my basic quick fix makeup needs from eyes (eyeshadow & eyeliner), face (foundation, concealer, primer, bronzer & highlighter), cheeks (blush), and lips (lip treatment, lipstick & lipgloss). All with just 4 makeup products! Now, ain’t that impressive? Stay tuned for Part II of my Double-Duty series….coming soon to a blogosphere near you!

Thanks for reading my blog : – )

What are your favorite double-duty makeup products?

2 thoughts on “Double-Duty Beauty: Time and $Money-Saving Makeup – Part I

  1. Love this, though I’d need to add mascara in too as I can’t leave the house without it! I love Benefit’s Fine-one-one as its an all in one highlighter, blusher and contourer and can be used on the lips too!

Leave a Reply

