Double-Duty Beauty: Time and $Money-Saving Skincare – Part II

What can I say? The world we live in today is all about convenience. Getting the most for your dollar is what everyone wants and is searching for. With my skincare regimen, time is precious for us moms and for every other modern day woman out there. I want to do something for my skin but it can’t be a lengthy endeavor (when the kids are pulling on my leg and my 8-month old is screaming to be picked up). So obviously, my ultimate goal is to have quality skincare products that performs double duty to cut my prep time in half.

To simplify my life and yours I created a short list of my favorite skincare items (some of which I’ve already raved about in past blogs) by paring down to absolute essentials that go beyond their original intent.

1. Bioderma Crealine H20 Cleansing Solution 500 ml (now called Sensibio); $66.99; amazon.caImage

From makeup artists, to European catwalk models, to celebrities and now, even me—yes, everyone and their dog has raved about this French dermatological product to be The Holy Grail of cleansers/makeup remover. This cult skincare product has caused quite a stir on beauty magazines and blogs alike for its kind-to-skin dual properties and efficiency.

I use it as both a makeup remover and a cleanser. It’s pH balanced, geared for sensitive skin, fragrance free, and colourless with a texture just like water.

Definitely a good, highly convenient and gentle makeup remover, it removes a whole face of makeup with 2-3 cotton pads, without irritating my skin. In fact, what I love the most about using this remover is that it actually feels like I’m simply washing my face with bottled water rather than some overpowering formula concocted to remove even the most stubborn of makeup.

After using it as a cleanser, my skin is left feeling surprisingly soothed and moisturised, refreshed and clean rather than the oily residue I have occasionally experienced with other makeup removers.

2.  Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour Cream; $21.99; amazon.ca

dd2

This cult-classic cream has been around for a very long time, 80 years to be precise, has never gone out of vogue and has acquired legions of loyal fans. I for one, am among those loyal followers.

The story behind this says that Elizabeth Arden made it to use on her horses, and one day her neighbour used it on a wound on her son. She said that it healed the wound in eight hours, and so Eight Hour Cream was born.

It is a Vaseline type balm, and the product is actually described as  a “skin protectant.” This thick, apricot colored ointment-like texture has a slightly clinical and medicinal, strange but pleasant smell, with no flavour. The fragrance fades quickly upon application.

Image

A life saver on so many levels, I use my Eight Hour Cream for so many different things. It’s a great healing balm for pimples. It works really well on dry chapped lips, it’s great for dry fly-away hair and on skin rashes, dry patches, dry cuticles, relieves and soothes chapped, dry and cracked skin and exczema…it works miracles. I’ve even used it as a highlighter by mixing a small amount with shimmer powder and placed on areas I want to highlight. The uses are just endless!

I keep a stock of it on hand and readily available in the washroom and on my nightstand. I always carry a small tub of this around with me in my handbag for those dry skin moments. I like knowing its there for dry hand emergencies, lip gloss needs or even unruly eyebrows.

You can learn more fascinating facts about this amazing product on Learnmore.elizabetharden.com

Image

3. Biafine; $34.99; ebay.com

Image

This is a water-based, non-toxic emulsion composed primarily of herbal ingredients and is formulated for the healing of superficial wounds, minor cuts, scars and abrasions, 1st and 2nd degree burns, and sunburns.

My husband was the first to introduce me to this little French gem, after a stove burn on my hand and the results were astounding! It’s light, smooth formula absorbs very quickly. It hydrates and miraculously soothes burned, hot or irritated skin immediately upon contact.

Now, so far you’re probably thinking: Great, a functional cream that probably sounds more like it belongs in a first aid kit than on a chic bathroom counter. But far from it, because wait. This baby has more up it’s sleeves.

This can also be used as a facial mask to help moisturize the skin and even out skintone. I love it and apply it on my face to keep it smooth and tight on a monthly basis. Kinda like my own monthly facial mini-spa. It’s also  amazing as an after-sun exposure product to prevent those hideous age spots from popping up if you put it on AFTER being in the sun (not before).

4. Cover FX Eye Prep Anti-Age Smoothing Primer; $34; Coverfx.ca

Image

You’ve already heard me raving about this fantastic product before, but I had to include this one in my Double-Duty series because it just rocks!

It’s got all these goodies like cucumber extract that can help to soothe and rejuvenate skin especially around the eyes, diminish eye bags, brighten dark circles and reduce puffiness. The skin really drinks this up! So as an eye cream, I would have to say check to all that because it really has improved and energized the skin around my eye area in the last 4 months of daily use.

As an eye primer it allows for an easy  smooth surface and a flawless canvas for eye shadow application and helps to help ensure eye shadow stays intact all day…I say check to all the above!

5. Embryolisse Lait-Crème Concentré Nourishing Moisturizer; $29.98; amazon.caImage

This miracle beauty cream has achieved cult status amongst makeup artists, models and been on the must-have list in many beauty magazines for its versatility, gentleness and multi-personalities.

Embryolisse products have been around since the 1950′s. They were developed by a physician to work with the skin’s natural defenses. According to the website, this creamy lotion is really three products in one: the make-up artists use it as a primer, moisturizer, and make-up remover. It also reduces irritation after shaving!

And not only that, Embryolisse Lait-Crème Concentré uses go beyond many moisturizers;  it goes well above and beyond its call of duty and also multitasks as a cleansing lotion for babies and children. I especially love using it to thin out heavy liquid foundations to create a tinted moisturizer—it makes my skin look flawless and feel like butta:)

The tube holds a milky cream fluid that has a gorgeous light versatile texture—not a thick cream but its not a runny lotion either, which just sinks and settles into the skin perfectly. It promises 24-hrs of hydration and it has not yet broken that promise (I have been using it for nearly 3 months).

And there I was thinking I was OK with using my Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Moisturizer SPF15 (which, don’t get me wrong is pretty good), but Embryolisse has changed me and my face.

Image

In the last 2 months, I’ve noticed a glow, and smoother texture about my skin even with me going through a seasonal breakout spell. Its one of those creams I will definitely keep using, especially when Lait-Crème is suitable for every skin type. It doesn’t leave your skin greasy, but it locks in the moisture all day. Just a pleasure to use.

Well, that about sums it up for me, for the moment on Double-Duty products.  So the next time you are out at the store, look for skincare products that work on two fronts. Make sure it saves you time but doesn’t compromise on quality skin care.

Thanks for reading my blog : – )

What are your favorite double-duty makeup products? Have you tried any of these products?

2 thoughts on “Double-Duty Beauty: Time and $Money-Saving Skincare – Part II

  1. Thanks for leaving me the link to this review, I love your double duty series =) =) And that moisturiser sounds amazing!! Eep, stop tempting me! Haha.
    Xx
    Penny
    parsimoniouspenny.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

