Good in Bed – My Night-time Faves

While you sleep, your skin stays awake and repairs itself.  Skin is more receptive to treatment at night which is the body’s natural time for skin to breathe, to heal and restore itself to a healthy young glow. In addition, many active ingredients work better when they are not exposed to UV light.

The benefits of establishing a night skin care routine include improving skin tone and color, reducing skin blemishes, and hydrating and rejuvenating the skin. I’m all over that!

But you can make this job go a little smoother by prepping your skin with a few simple nighttime skin treatments. After all, taking care of your skin isn’t just a day job.

With that being said, I try to make the most of my beauty rest with these fantastic products that work while I sleep:

Image

1.  Philosophy Miracle Worker Dark Spot Corrector; Sephora.com

The name pretty much says it all: packed with a hefty dose of Vitamin C, Niacinamide, and good-for-you anitioxidants this skin brightening product is designed to visibly improve the appearance of dark spots and skin discoloration associated with age spots, acne scarring and sun damage, by working to even out and brighten skin tone to reveal a more uniform complexion.

Image

Directions: apply 1-2 pumps to your entire face nightly on clean, dry skin, avoiding the eye area. May also be used as a spot treatment.  Slightly tinted but blends to nothing on the skin.

2.  Kiehl’s Ultra Moisturizing Buffing Cream with Scrub Particles

I’m was so heartbroken to find out that this is now discontinued—why, oh why do they do that? Anyways, I still have a little left, and I had to add this as part of my weekly night time routine because I just love it!

Image

On a weekly basis, I exfoliate gently before bed with Kiehl’s Ultra Moisturizing Buffing Cream with Scrub Particles, then I load up on my favorite serum (see next item).

A lovely, butter-colored, thick, whipped moisturizing cleanser with scrub particles which can be used as an exfoliant on face or body. Formulated with fine natural oils and moisturizers, this gentle buffing cream leaves the skin silky-soft, smooth and primed for moisturization.

This stuff is ‘da bomb. As you can see, I can’t get enough of this stuff, since I use it on my face and body (think double-duty)—will need to pay a visit to nearest Kiehl’s shop for a dupe replacement:)

Image

Directions: apply to clean, damp skin, leaving out the eye area, and gently massage in upward circular motions. Remove with damp washcloth or facial sponge and rinse. To maximize the skin-softening and moisturizing effects of this product, follow use with the moisturizer appropriate for your skin type.

3.  B com Bio Organic Smoothing Serum Firmness; Amazon.com

An ultra-hydrating serum designed to give dehydrated skin a powerful shield to lock in moisture and restore softness and radiance with an immediate firming, smoothing effect thanks to organic oat extract.

Recommended for all skin types, it’s formulated with hyaluronic acid (a potent natural humectant that helps your skin hold water so it looks smoother in the morning—gotta love this stuff!) that visibly trans­forms skin texture to appear plumper, healthy looking and improving the tone of the skin.

Image

Directions: apply morning and evening to face and neck.

4.  Boots No 7 Beautiful Skin Overnight Revitalising Eye Balm; Amazon.com 

A cream, gel-like,  hypo-allergenic product that absorbs quickly and has a soothing effect just perfect for priming me to sleep:)  Let it soak in over night to get the full benefits of visibly improved dark circles and puffiness.

Pop this on before you go to sleep and by the morning you’ll be looking like you’ve had your full nine hours sleep.

Image

Directions: apply thin layer to the delicate eye area without massaging. Gently pat in until absorbed. Recommended for all skin types.

5.  Lancome Rénergie Lift Multi-Action –  Lifting and Firming Cream; Lancôme.ca

A pale pink tinted emollient cream formulated with collagen-boosting peptides and moisturizing lipids for a firmer-looking complexion. Has a light scent that reminds me of roses, which I find soothing before going to bed:)

Image

Website says: Rénergie Lift Multi-Action features Multi-Tension technology, designed to target skin layers…Acts at night, when the skin’s ability to repair itself peaks, to restore skin’s youthful look.

I received this as a GWP. I’m still going through my first container and still have a new one stashed away! I love how it just melts into your skin. My skin always feels so moisturized and plump upon application. Recommended for all skin types.

6.  Lancome Visionnaire Advanced Skin Corrector targets  Wrinkles, Pores – Evenness; Lancôme.ca

It looks milky and it feels really light and thin in texture – very easy to spread all over the face— there is no dragging of the skin. I love that it leaves no residue or film on the skin. Moisturizer can be applied straight after, and it provides a lovely base for foundation.

Image

I also received this as GWP and have yet another one stashed away. Gotta love those Lancôme Bonus Times!

***************************************************

Care for your skin if you want your skin to look gorgeous and radiant for many years to come—wise words from my favorite aunt who is now 75 years young (she seriously doesn’t look a day over 50:). She is my role model and taught me the importance of taking care of your skin as early as 9 years old! She was giving me Sheiseido facial mask treatments back then.

Once you make it a routine and make your pampering time a habit you will find it very easy and relaxing…I sure do!

Thanks for reading my blog : – )

What are your favorite night-time skin bed buddies😉

Leave a Reply

