PROJECT MUJI: Series II

Look what the FedEx man delivered to me YESTERDAY! My long-awaited 2nd set of MUJI acrylic storage units! This time I ordered the 3-drawer unit to join forces with my current 5-drawer unit set which I purchased a month ago.

Image

Item was well packaged in a box with styrofoam packing peanuts, layered in bubble wrap and encased in a clear cellophane.

Image

Last month for the first time, I experienced the power of the MUJI acrylic storage units. As I lovingly gaze down upon these little wonders, I want to kick myself for having waited so long to get my hands on these!

Reason I want to kick myself is because I have to look at my beauty closet every morning and see this crazy clutter.

Image

Yeah, I know…definitely a work in progress. An on-going mission of mine is called PROJECT MUJI. Goal is to completely MUJI-up my entire makeup & skincare collection, and maybe even more. Because as you can see, in those boxes and makeup bags are MORE makeup to be MUJI-ied! Not only is it a noun, I’ve also added MUJI to my verb vocabulary. Yes, a verb!

Definition of MUJI: (verb)
1.  To put together into an orderly, functional, structured whole.
2.  To arrange in a desired pattern or structure
3.  To arrange systematically for harmonious or united action

For those of you not familiar with the name, MUJI is the name of a Japanese retail company distinguished by its design minimalism, emphasis on recycling, avoidance of waste in production and packaging, and no-logo or “no-brand” policy, which sells a wide variety of household and consumer goods. The name Muji is derived from the first part of Mujirushi Ryōhin, translated as No Brand Quality Goods.

They have an online shopping site for Canada and the U.S and Europe and of course MUJI Global. So, let the “MUJI-ing” begin!

Like a crazed beauty junkie I attacked my beauty closet and tried to empty out as many makeup bags/boxes as possible to try and fit into my new MUJI unit. I was able to empty out my little box of eye makeup and my lipstick rack (which I think is pretty useless).

Image

The 3-drawer unit is comprised of my face makeup: concealers, highlighters, bronzers, blushes, liquid foundations, tinted moisturizers, translucent setting powders, and mineral powder foundations.

Image

Image

I rearranged the 5-drawer unit to be exclusively store all my eye makeup and the bottom drawer for lipstick, lip liners and lip glosses

Image

Image

MUJI units can be stacked together or used as stand alone units. The configurations are endless with all the different sized acrylic storage units MUJI offers!

Image

I think everyone could use a little MUJI in their lives. It’s certainly MUJI-ied my beauty life—for the better…and I can’t wait to get hands on some more!😊

Thanks for reading my blog 😊

How do you organize your beauty products?  Do you have a MUJI unit or something else comparable to it?

7 thoughts on “PROJECT MUJI: Series II

  1. I love how you have stored everything! I have just bought the 2 draw set from Muji and I’m taking inspiration from your photos. thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

