Burgundy is The New Black

Deep burgundy. Oxblood. Berry. Plum. Wine. Maroon. Bordeaux. Whatever shade you call it, I still classify it as Burgundy—which has been and will always be my all-time classic favorite color for the fall season. Move over black, burgundy is back!

Image

A comeback of varying shades of Burgundy are showing up again on the covers of fashion magazine issues – with designers using burgundy for a gamut of apparel items, including separates, accessories, and dresses.

Here are two collages I created of some lust-worthy random burgundy pieces I want now! Get ready to drool:)

Image

Image

When you’re ready to take on this color trend feel free to experiment and combine it with a few unexpected colors to add mystery and richness to your wardrobe palette. Burgundy looks good with black and grey, but it is also surprisingly forgiving when combined with bright colors. Incorporate it with other colors to create a number of powerful and fun fall combinations.

Image

Image

Image

Image

The trend has also extended to beauty, especially in gorgeous lipstick colors. The New York & Milan Fashion Week Fall/Winter 2013/2014 shows for Kenneth Cole, Marni, Bottega Veneta, Dolce & Gabbana, Fendi & Vera Wang featured the crimson lip reinvented on models with berry stained effect lips. Now that this lip trend is ‘au currant’ and in full force this fall season have fun with it!

Image

Image

Happy fall shopping everyone!

Thank you for reading my blog.😊

What is your favorite fall color for clothing or makeup?

20 thoughts on “Burgundy is The New Black

  1. Ooooh! I love all these colors! Thanks for listing the pretty lipsticks =) I want to try the MAC one and Nars lip pencil! They look so gorgeous! ❤

    • I agree it’s definitely everything you described. It also has a mysterious vibe to me too…right now I’m thinking about gypsies and fortune tellers. Don’t ask me why, but I’ve associated those colors to them since I was little. I was so drawn to gypsies & fortune tellers when I was young, seeing them in movies, reading about them in books that in time I grew to love the color burgundy at an early age😉

  2. My favourite fall colour/s for clothing would be all kinds of burgundy, navy blue and black. For makeup it’s all kinds of red and plum on the lips 🙂 On the eyes I especially love all dark and smokey shades (brown, taupe, olive green).

Leave a Reply

