Stash Treasure Find: MAC Beauty Marked Velvet Eyeshadow

My ‘I ❤️ burgundy’ phase still continues with my little gem of a stash find—MAC’s Velvet Eyeshadow in Beauty Marked.

Image

I’ve actually had this for several years now but have only used it a couple of times for special occasions. It was a love-at-first-sight purchase back then, and now I’m reminded of why I love this unique shade and the awesome effect it gives.

Image

So imagine my delight and exhilaration at rediscovering it yesterday in my own crazy stash of eye makeup. The feeling I got was like the feeling I get when I make a beauty related purchase—a beauty rush high.

At first inspection it is a deep blackened burgundy color with a sparkle/twilight effect.  As is evident from the below image, it is an extremely pigmented shade.

Image

When I put it on it blends out on the eye into a deep blackberry color, and completley matte. No more shimmer (maybe a couple of sporadic burgundy flecks here and there), but it’s pretty much black.

Image

And even though it isn’t purely just black, it is awesome for a smokey effect. It’s perfect for pairing with burgundy-plums (my favorite) or creating a “smokey plum” look. The texture, however, isn’t the best. It’s just not as smooth as other MAC eyeshadows are and needs a little more TLC to blend. But the color pay-off is good. You hardly need much product for maximum color.

Besides the full on smokey eye look, I like to mainly use this as a dramatic crease or in the outer V corner to smoke out my eyeshadows and for smudging out my eyeliners. Since this is almost matte black I like to also apply it as an eyeliner. I apply it with an eyeliner brush and I get a precise line that doesn’t budge.

Overall I do like it, you just have to take the time to play around with it a little bit, and find what works for you.

Thank you for reading my blog.😊

Have you tried this MAC eyeshadow shade?

17 thoughts on “Stash Treasure Find: MAC Beauty Marked Velvet Eyeshadow

  1. Hey there! This is a great color, it is a good alternative to black. MAC has been my go-to for eye makeup but I normally stay with what I know so thanks for the suggestion. I would love to see you do a tutorial or show the ways you explained how it can be used. xo

Leave a Reply

