Karl Lagerfeld Karlisms

With his ‘bon mots’ and hilarious quips—Karl Lagerfeld never fails to capture our attention. Fittingly coined, ‘Karlisms’, I love hearing his often outrageous musings which cover an array of opinions on everything and an insight on his views of the world. From life, to love, to Pippa Middleton and Coco Chanel, there isn’t a topic that has escaped his cutting wit. I absolutely adore him!

Here are some of my favorite ‘Karlisms’ he’s doled out in the past:

1. On his expensive taste: ‘When I was four I asked my mother for a valet for my birthday.’

2. On his feelings after a fashion show: ‘I’m a kind of fashion nymphomaniac who never gets an orgasm.’

Image

3. On jogging bottoms: ‘Sweatpants are a sign of defeat. You lost control of your life so you bought some sweatpants.’

4. On his iconic style: ‘I am like a caricature of myself, and I like that. It is like a mask. And for me the Carnival of Venice lasts all year long.’

Image

5. On political correctness: ‘Be politically correct, but please don’t bother other people with conversation about being politically correct, because that’s the end of everything. You want to create boredom? Be politically correct in your conversation.’

Image

6. On listening to other people: ‘I hate intellectual conversation with intellectuals because I only care about my opinion.’

7. On not wanting children: ‘Having adult children makes you look 100 years old. I don’t want that.’

Image

8. On never letting appearances slip: ‘I think everyone should go to bed like they have a date at the door.’

9. On his infamous sunglasses: ”They’re my burka… I’m a little short-sighted, and people, when they’re short-sighted, they remove their glasses and then they look like cute little dogs who want to be adopted.’

Image

10. On Coco Chanel: ‘What I do Coco would have hated. The label has an image and it’s up to me to update it. I do what she never did. I had to find my mark. I had to go from what Chanel was to what it should be, could be, what it had been to something else.’

11. On retirement: ‘Why should I stop working? If I do, I’ll die and it’ll all be finished.’

Image

12. On tattoos: ‘I think tattoos are horrible. It’s like living in a Pucci dress full-time. If you’re young and tight, maybe it’s OK, but…’

13. On the Middleton sisters: ‘Kate Middleton has a nice silhouette. I like that kind of woman, I like romantic beauties. On the other hand, the sister struggles. I don’t like the sister’s face. She should only show her back.’

Image

14. On his cat, Choupette: ‘She is like a kept woman. She has a strong personality. She has lunch and dinner with me on the table, with her own food. She doesn’t touch my food. She doesn’t want to eat on the floor. She sleeps under a pillow and she even knows how to use an iPad.’

15. On the use of fur in fashion: ‘In a meat-eating world, wearing leather for shoes and even clothes, the discussion of fur is childish.’

Image

16. On love: ‘The only love that I really believe in is a mother’s love for her children.’

17. On his ambition: ‘I would like to be a one-man multinational fashion phenomenon.’

Image

18. On his humility: ‘I’m very much down to earth, just not this earth.’

19. On fashion designers being too busy: ‘We cannot talk about our suffering. People buy dresses to be happy, not to hear about somebody who suffered over a piece of taffeta. Me, I like to make an effort. I like nothing better than concrete reality. I’m a very down-to-earth person, but it is my job to make that earth more pleasant.

Image

20. On making excuses for bad style: ‘Never use the word “cheap”. Today everybody can look chic in inexpensive clothes (the rich buy them too). There is good clothing design on every level today. You can be the chicest thing in the world in a T-shirt and jeans – it’s up to you.’

21. On his fashion staple: ‘If you were to ask me what I wish I had invented in fashion, it would be the white shirt. To me, a shirt is the basis for everything. Everything else comes afterwards.’

Image

22. On school: ‘I did not study because I did not have time.’ AND ‘Schools are worthless if you are not into them 300 percent.’

23. On culture: ‘Burying your head in culture is the most voluptuous feeling.’

Image

24. On youth: ‘In my youth, youth was not trendy.’

25. On his winning formula: ‘A sense of humour and a little lack of respect: that’s what you need to make a legend survive.’

Thank you for reading my blog. 😊

What’s your favourite Karlism?

6 thoughts on “Karl Lagerfeld Karlisms

    • Wow, I never knew about that comment he made about Adele. So I dug up some articles about it on the web, just to get more info about it. I felt a little angered too, by it. Controversy definitely follows this man everywhere. I am glad that he did make a public address to everyone with an apology, saying: ‘I’d like to say to Adele that I am your biggest admirer. Sometimes when you take a sentence out of the article it changes the meaning of the thought…Adele is my favourite singer and I am a great admirer of her.’

Leave a Reply

