I ♥ Brunello Cucinelli ♥

I am now officially a huge fan of Brunello Cucinelli and his luxury apparel. Who, you ask is Brunello Cucinelli? I asked myself the same question when I came across his Resort 2014 ready-to-wear designs on the Bergdorf Goodman website. It was love at first sight.

Image

Image

Brunello Cucinelli is something of a philosopher, in addition to being a world renowned womens’s and men’s wear designer. The son of a farmer, he started out in the late 1970s selling hand-crafted cashmere sweaters made by local artisans .

Image

A decade later in 1978, he made a name for himself as the leading Italian luxury apparel company and also started the restoration of the medieval town of Solomeo (Umbria) where his manufacturing and design occurs.

Image

The difference between working for Cucinelli or for one of the other large textile companies is that:

“Everyone who works for me has a key to the premises. I mean that they have the keys, they come and go when they want and no one has to clock in. And they work as if they were at home. In fact, they actually work inside houses, those of the medieval hamlet at Solomeo on the road leading to Lake Trasimeno, where our centre of operations is situated. It was a beautiful place that had been completely abandoned. In 1987, with my first earnings, I bought a small part: the remains of an old castle for very little money. I bought the last part a few years ago and naturally I had to pay much more. I restored everything, but didn’t modernize it. I left everything as it was: the eleven houses divided into small apartments, the church, the castle. And this is where we work, surrounded by eight centuries of history”

Image

The company is still lead by Brunello himself who operates as creative director and chairman. The brand focuses on the production of luxury goods for men’s and women’s, where craftsmanship, quality and creativity are the focal points. “Everything that I buy I hope to leave to my children, and to others,” he insists. “I don’t want to make anything that you throw out.”

Image

Having dropped out of engineering school at twenty-four, Cucinelli has followed a self-imposed curriculum of study, which has resulted in his assembling a personal pantheon of sages, ranging from Socrates to St. Francis of Assisi and Pascal. Along with mentions of Kant and Charlie Chaplin. A more recent inspiration is President Barack Obama, whom Cucinelli regards as a new Marcus Aurelius.

Image

Respect for traditional craftsmanship, hand in hand with intriguing innovation, mark Cucinelli’s current women’s and men’s casual wear collections. Brunello Cucinelli has been recognized worldwide as a “humanistic enterprise”, highlighting its business practices which focus on the well-being of its employees both domestically and abroad.

The interesting quality of his principles are laid bare, for all to view, on his website. In a website that is remarkably detailed, with extensive philosophical meditations on nearly every component of his sense of business and the careful thoughtfulness he brings to his brandspirit and personal life contemplations, are outlined in an intriguing overview of his character.

Image

Image

As I was reading more and more about him, I was becoming more and more fascinated and eventually became enamoured with the man himself and how his endgame ranges to a higher purpose of commitment and humanitarianism. His designs are also divine and I’ve been blown away by his Fall Winter 2013/2014 Women’s collection. 

His clothes have been often described as “sporty chic”—there’s a timeless elegance and harmony to the clothes with their soft textures and muted colours. Here are some of his most amazing pieces—just breathtaking…*le sigh*

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Thank you for reading my blog.😊

Have you seen or heard of this amazing designer and his collections?

14 thoughts on “I ♥ Brunello Cucinelli ♥

      • Oh no I wish I knew him! But he has many shops around Italy and people travel from all over to get his cashmere clothes from the main shop in Perugia. Harrods here in the uk also stocks his line. So great you wrote an article about him, shows your impeccable class 😉

      • He is truly a one of a kind artist & philosopher-humanitarian. I am absolutely in awe of him. I think he is probably one of the classiest designers out there! He and his work are a national treasure.😍

  1. Thank you so for introducing me to this brilliant designer. This collection is stunning and elegant. I am a huge devoted follower of anything in the line of “sporty chic” and this is a breath of fresh air! I love that you included details of who Brunello Cucinelli is as a man, a true inspiration. Just lovely! xx

    • I just wish I knew about him earlier! But now that I know of him and his existence, I want nothing more than to actually go and visit his 14th century hamlet in the medieval town Solomeo—and maybe even work for his company! He is by far, I think one of the world’s best designers. When I win the lottery, I plan to fill my entire closet with Brunello Cucinelli apparel!😍

      • Indeed – what a divine gift it would be to work in such a creatively rich environment . . . it would be a dream! Until then — run wild in your stylish mind!! xo

  2. I’ve been aware of the brand for a few years but will definitely be giving it a closer look now – those collection images are breath-taking. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

