MAC Huggable Lipcolour Review

Image

At the beginning of this month, I made a recent MAC splurge and posted my purchase of the MAC Huggable Lipcolour in Cherry Glaze ($24 CAD).

Image

I also divulged in my previous post a spoiler alert that upon first application at the MAC counter, I swooned. If you’re interested, please read on and you will discover why.

Image

First off, one thing that is instantly noticeable is that these have different packaging compared to the normal MAC lipsticks. They come housed in a gunmetal like tube that has a flat top (instead of that tapered tip). You will also notice that the shape of the Huggable lipcolour bullet has a flat top and when wound down it sits flush with the tube.

Image

I love the substantial weight of these lipsticks, they feel a little heavier and of better quality, and I think the packaging is definitely more chic and sexier than the normal MAC black plastic lipstick tube.

Now, let’s get down to the nitty gritty. To begin with MAC introduces this new limited-edition lip product on it’s website as:

“A new high-shine formula featuring an array of creamy emollients, providing a lasting, glossy finish that leaves lips smooth and sculpted. A unique gel base allows each shade to smooth effortlessly onto the skin, with a feather-light finish giving immediate moisture, lasting up to six hours.”

Texture:

This brand new formula originally came in twelve shades which was inspired by gel based lipstick Asian trends—the gel base helps to allow the lipcolour to practically melt into your lips and stay smooth and glossy for up to 6 hours.

I think MAC totally hit a home run when they named this line—because they are very emollient but with a slightly thicker texture, so they seriously adhere to and HUG the lips.

When worn, it feels lightweight, creamy, and moisturizing—less slippery like a lip butter and more like a balm. The way they glide onto the lips is incredible! Very comfortable to wear! This formula has also won me over with it’s shiny finish—but not so shiny that you could confuse it with lipgloss. I am singing the praises of this gel based lipstick!

Pigmentation:

What surprised me is the level of pigment which is spot on. The color Cherry Glaze  has a rich payoff with a soft shine finish. You can control the coverage by swiping back and forth a few times for more color. It’s the perfect corally orange red shade for spring!

If you have time to go to the counter to test, I highly recommend you visit soon. Note: when I visited the MAC counter to ask about the Huggable Lipcolour, the makeup artist told me that they were pretty much SOLD OUT in all shades and they ONLY had 2 tubes left: one of Cherry Glaze and the other was Touché (nude shade). I immediately fell in love with the orangey red shade of Cherry Glaze. I have received compliments on my lip colour every time I wear this!

Image

Cherry Glaze is a pigmented semi-opaque colour with a high gloss finish that eventually turns into a stain. You can apply it lightly or heavily (see swatches below – top is applied heavily and the bottom is two swipes).

Image

Image

Lasting power:

Lasting power is also quite impressive. As far as wear time, unfortunately, I found that it did not last up to six hours on me. The results of a single application yielded me four hours of wear but it also left a nice slight stain on my lips once it wore off. This lipcolour lasts for hours, keeps this high gloss finish for around 2 hours, and is not at all sticky. At the same time, four hours is already a lot of time and above average for most lipsticks I’ve ever tried/owned.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 Overall, this was my first experience with MAC’s Huggable Lipcolour and if you couldn’t tell already, I’m totally infatuated with this line! The new Huggable Lipcolour lipsticks are deliciously creamy, super moisturizing, a dream to apply, packs a lot of colour and they feel very comfortable on the lips.

There are a few more colors I want to pick up before they completely sell out everywhere! Unfortunately various stores have certain shades sold out. So you may have to do a bit of searching but hopefully stores probably still have stock of most colors. Fingers crossed! (I do hope that MAC considers making these permanent).

Next time you are near a MAC counter, I highly recommend giving these a shot. Your lips will thank you!

Thank you for reading my blog.😊

Do you have a lipstick from the new MAC Huggable Lipcolour collection yet?

14 thoughts on “MAC Huggable Lipcolour Review

    • Thanks, I love the color too! I’m kicking myself too for not having checked this out as soon as it had launched—because it looks like it’s now discontinued in Canada😢

  1. Oh gosh. No no I just asked a friend to pick up some Clinique Chubby Sticks at the duty free for me, but I don’t want to spend more money on MAC. It looks so good though!

    • Lol…ha ha…Let’s just say, it’s my favorite MAC lipstick to date. I’m kicking myself for not running to the store when it was first launched because it looks like they are now discontinued in Canada😫😢

Leave a Reply

