Benefit Fake Up Review

Ahhh under eye concealers… the most needed item in every woman’s makeup arsenal whether she thinks she needs it or not. It is a beauty essential that can brighten up a tired face, cover up unsightly sunspots, blemishes, make under-eye circles go away and  is the crucial step in creating the perfect canvas and a flawless face. However, finding the right one, is not always easy.

In my crusade against shadows, lines, and dark circles, the hunt for the best under eye concealers never seems to end. The best method used by most women as we all know is to test each one until you find the best under eye concealer that works for you.

Image

Enter into my life, Benefit’s Fake Up Crease Control Hydrating Concealer. After reading and seeing all kinds of mixed YouTube reviews on it—I finally decided to give it a try and see what all the hype was about.

The website states that “this moisturizing crease-control concealer with vitamin E and apple seed extract hides dark circles and diffuses fine lines for a silky smooth, ultranatural look. Available in three shades, it’s proven to keep skin hydrated for six hours and won’t cake, crease, or settle”. Sound too good to be true? Well, you’ll soon find out:)

Packaging:

The packaging is down right adorable!; it is a sleek silver chrome tube and is beautifully embossed with hot pink brocade-like scrolls all over. Overall, the tube looks quite luxe. It can actually pass off as a travel friendly and portable lipstick!

Image

The sleek silver tube twists like a lipstick to reveal a two-in-one combo of under eye concealer in the center and a translucent solid serum surrounding it.

Image

Formula / Texture:

I love the concept of this product. Unlike other concealers Benefit Fake Up Crease Control Hydrating Concealer is a essentially a two in one product – a hydrating shell of moisturizing balm which includes skin smoothing and plumping ingredients such as Vitamin E (the wonder vitamin that helps prevent aging) and Apple Seed Extract which helps to brighten dull skin.

Image

Then right in the center you have your creamy concealing pigment which is of course used to mask dark circles, disguise any minor skin flaws  and instantly brighten tired-looking eyes with light-reflecting pigments— when the two formulas are combined, you get a smooth, buttery, gentle concealer that transfers easily and blends well and quickly-no need for warming up and no tugging and pulling on your under eye skin so that means lesser risk of getting premature wrinkles, all thanks to the Hydrating Ring which gives it that much-needed slip.

Image

Image

It comes in three easy-to-blend shades; Light, Medium, and Deep. I wish they had mores shades so more people could have it better matched, but for me Medium matches really nicely.

Application:

The key to this product is – blending, blending and blending.  Gently swipe the twist-up concealer underneath each eye and use your ring finger to blend. Reapply whenever your eyes need a hydrating pick-me-up. And it does work really well with the hydrating aspect, has a bit of dewy effect and extremely easy to apply which feels really nice and smooth and it doesn’t feel oily.

Speaking of blending thanks to the hydrating core you really don’t have to work this product into the skin, it sinks in beautifully by itself and feels light and almost gel like…a really lovely texture for the delicate under eye area.

Coverage:

I would say this concealer provides a decent medium coverage. It was a lot more pigmented than I had expected, which was a pleasant surprise, but I wouldn’t go as far as to say that it provides full coverage. It’s absolutely great for everyday use and days when you want to go for a natural and fresh look, but for the days when you have really bad under eye darkness, you might want to reach for a concealer with more coverage than this.

It works great on redness,under eye circles, and smaller acne. If you have dry patches this product is perfect since this product has a moisturizer you can put the concealer on dry patches without making them look flakey or it settling into creases. I recommend on dry patches to apply under your foundation and then reapply over foundation to make it appear flawless.

You can easily add a bit more concealer so it is buildable in that sense and the best thing is that it doesn’t cake when you do that. So if/when you touch up on your concealer throughout the day and you feel you need a bit more, with this baby right here, you can easily do that without looking like you have a caked on face. To me, that’s a pretty awesome feature 🙂

Results:

The first day I was skeptical, but it went on like velvet and coverage was amazing! By the end of the first day it was still holding coverage and was not wrinkling or drying out. I did put a setting powder over it to hold it better. Once applied, blended and set it stays in place and doesn’t crease or until around the 8 hour mark which is pretty good going considering I seem to be queen of the oily skin by mid-day.

Fake Up was so easy to use underneath the eyes: The coverage was quick and immediate, and the results were instantly visible. In a consumer study, 100 percent of panelists said that the concealer hydrated their skin, and it certainly did mine. It had an extremely silky feeling (almost silicone-like silky) and went smoothly under the eye area without feeling waxy or sticky.

 Final thoughts:

I absolutely love this concealer, I’ve been wearing this for about three weeks now and it is one of the best I have tried. Benefit’s Fake Up concealer is high my list of essential daily use products. The coverage is ample and the hydration is out of this world.

Overall if you have dry skin you need to try this concealer it’s a life saver, totally holy grail product. It’s so amazing! For me, the hydrating aspect is what makes this product irreplaceable. My blemishes and dry patches are being concealed and moisturized all at the same time! The price is $29 CAD, which is expensive, but it is high end makeup and its such a great product that I find it to be worth the price!

This concealer is exactly what my skin has always dreamed of—I highly recommend it. Would I repurchase it? You bet I would! I already consider myself hooked.

Thank you for reading my blog.😊

Have you tried Benefit’s Fake Up concealer? Or are there any other concealers that you would like to shout about? Let me know!

23 thoughts on “Benefit Fake Up Review

  1. Hesitant, as always, to try Benefit because of the price tag. =/ I got a Catrice Colour Palette from a friend for my birthday but the salmon colour corrector in it doesn’t work too well and it always ends up ashy. I like using my MAC Prep + Prime Eye primer as a concealer sometimes though, I find it pretty effective.

  2. I have this concealer and I haven’t really tested it long enough to write my verdict hehe but it’s true, what you said, that it seems like the hunt for the best undereye concealers never end.

  3. My heart always melt when I see Benefit reviews. But when I go to the counter, I back out because of the price haha… They do have a lot I want to try out, but I just don’t feel like I get enough for my money…

    • I was hesitant initially when I saw the price tag at my local drugstore, but it was one of those days when I was needing a “splurge”, so I just went for it. And I’m so glad I did!😊

Leave a Reply

